Course

Old Siberian city of Tomsk is happy to welcome all marathon lovers again, for the second time now, on Sunday, June 9, 2018!

Yarche Tomsk Marathon is going to be not only a sport event this time — the City is also celebrating its 415th birthday this year! And our birthday-city is getting ready to show the best of it to its guests. Fantastic wooden laces of early 20th century buildings, dark secrets of old merchants’ mansions, Soviet-era monuments, works of modern sculptors of Tomsk, numerous legends of the land...

Let us tell you a story of this ancient city and invite you to share our feelings to it. Tomsk is a city you want to live in! And Tomsk is a city you want to run in — Faster! Yarche! Stronger!

For a start, we would like you to meet the symbol of Yarche! Marathon – 2019. Please welcome the Moose of Kulai!

 

In the ancient times when the Scythians enjoyed the rise of their glory, there was a taiga tribe in Western Siberia that we now call Kulai by the name of the mountain in Tomsk region where that culture artefacts were first discovered.

The Kulais were hunters, fishers and gatherers and, apparently, tried to comprehend the world around them. Kulai expressed their worldview in their unique artistic bronze casting that have no parallel in the world.

Moose image had a special significance among other bronze casting artefacts. Bold, strong, long-legged — the beast was feared and worshiped as a celestial patron. The constellation that we all know as the Great Bear (Big Dipper) was the Moose for Kulais. The Dipper is the running beast and the three stars on its handle are arrows of the hunters. Century after century the race is lasting. Tirelessly runs the Moose across the skies leaving his pursuers behind. What an inspiration for all of us, marathoners!

And now let’s check the course. It was selected carefully to make it, first, the most convenient and, second, the most interesting for the athletes.

The full course consists of two 21.1 km loops. The course starts at Novosobornaya Square (city center) and follows, with a slight smooth ascent, up the main street to Lagerny Gardens — a river-bank recreation area. After a U-turn at that point the course further follows the route of Peace Mile race taken yearly as an opening of Victory Day celebration.

Course Map

Marathon, half-marathon:

Карта
PDF, 300Kb | image, 600Kb

5 km:

Карта
PDF, 160Kb | image, 100Kb

Passing by all four oldest Universities of the city (we should mention that one in eight is a University or college student here) the marathoners continue their way along Ushaika River bank, old stone bridge, Gagarin, Sovietskaya, Kyznetsov and Uchebnaya streets. Every street name here is a history. How many people know that the first man in space, Yuri Gagarin, was appointed a position in Tomsk after his first vocational training? And how many people know that another space voyager, Nikolay Rukavishniokv, was born and brought up in Tomsk and lived in the street named as a tribute to Gagarin?

You will find a monument to Tomsk spaceman in a public garden around our White Lake. Two streets leading to the garden are Oktyabrskaya and Shishkova streets. Following these streets, the marathoners will have a chance to see the famous “Tomsk Lace” — our wooden architecture heritage ornamented with sophisticated carving — a symbol of Siberian homes coziness and hospitality.

Descent from one of highest hills of the town — Oktyabrskiy Vzvoz — will let the athletes relax a bit, brace up for the next stages and also enjoy the view of Voskresenskaya Church sitting proudly above the town. The course goes up to Voskresensky Hill — the place where the town of Tomsk was found — and then brings the athletes back to modern city center following along Rosa Luxemburg and Karl Marx streets. The course has its last slight bend along Nakhanovich Lane in the area of Tom River bank and Drama Theater after which the half-marathon is finished. Full marathon follows the second loop along many other landmarks of Siberian Athens.

Tomsk is a city that stays in your heart even if you visit it just once. It’s a 400 years old city with a young and vibrant spirit where cold Siberian climate is compensated with a warm welcome. Tomsk is waiting for you! Let’s run Tomsk Marathon together — Faster! Yarche! Stronger!

Share:

Трасса

9 июня 2019 г. Томск вновь рад встретить всех любителей бега! Марафон «Ярче!» — это не просто спортивный праздник. В 2019 году Томск отмечает свой 415-й День рождения! И поэтому, ему есть о чем поведать своим гостям. Необыкновенное деревянное кружево дореволюционных построек, тайны купеческих особняков, памятники советской эпохи, произведения современных томских скульпторов, многочисленные легенды земли Томской…

Мы расскажем историю старинного города, чтобы вы разделили наши чувства: Томск – город, в котором хочется жить! Город, в котором хочется бежать — Быстрее! Ярче! Сильнее!

И для начала хотим представить символ марафона «Ярче!» — 2019. Знакомьтесь — кулайский лось!

В те далекие времена, когда слава скифов гремела во всю мощь, на территории Западной Сибири обитал таёжный народ, известный теперь как «кулайцы» — по названию горы Кулайки в Томской области, где впервые обнаружили предметы, принадлежащие этой культуре.

Кулайцы охотились, занимались рыболовством и собирательством, а на досуге пытались осмыслить окружавший их мир. Мировоззрение кулайцев нашло отражение в художественном культовом литье — уникальном явлении, не имеющем мировых аналогов.

Среди изделий бронзового литья особое место занимает фигура Лося. Мощный, сильный, длинноногий зверь был настолько почитаем, что его возвели в ранг небесных покровителей. Известное нам всем созвездие Большой Медведицы кулайцы считали Лосем. Ковш — это бегущий зверь, а три звезды на рукояти — это стрелы охотников. И уж сколько веков подряд длится этот бег! Без устали мчится Лось по небосводу, оставляя преследователей позади. Чем не пример для марафонца!

Карта дистанции

Марафон, полумарафон:

Карта
PDF, 300Кб | картинка, 800Кб

5 км:

Карта
PDF, 185Кб | картинка, 300Кб

А теперь подробнее о маршруте. Он выбирался очень тщательно, преследуя две основные цели: быть максимально удобным и интересным для участников.

Марафонская дистанция состоит из двух кругов по 21,1 км. Забег стартует от площади Новособорной, плавно поднимаясь по проспекту Ленина к Лагерному саду. Затем, сделав разворот, повторяет маршрут пробега «Миля мира», которым в Томске ежегодно открываются праздничные мероприятия, посвященные Дню Победы.

Миновав четыре старейших городских ВУЗа (а ведь в Томске каждый восьмой житель – студент!), путь марафонцев продолжается по Набережной реки Ушайки, Каменному мосту, улицам Гагарина, Советская, Кузнецова и Учебная. Каждая из них богата своей историей. Многие ли знают о том, что Юрий Алексеевич Гагарин после получения первого профессионального образования был направлен по распределению в Томск? И что на улице, названной в его честь, проживал несколько лет другой покоритель космических просторов, томич, Николай Николаевич Рукавишников?

Памятник томскому космонавту находится в сквере Белого озера, к которому приведут улицы Октябрьская и Шишкова. Следуя по ним, марафонцы увидят знаменитое «томское кружево» – памятники деревянного зодчества, украшенные искусной резьбой, которые хранят тепло создавших их рук, олицетворяют уют и русское гостеприимство.

Спуск по Октябрьскому взвозу не только удивит сохранившимися элементами булыжной мостовой, величественным видом возвышающейся над городом Воскресенской церкви, но и даст передышку, позволит собраться с силами перед следующими этапами трассы. Оставив позади Воскресенскую гору – место основания Томска, улицы Розы Люксембург и Карла Маркса вернут участников забега в современный центр города. Вдоль набережной Томи, Театра Драмы дистанция совершит последний небольшой изгиб по переулку Нахановича, преодолев который полумарафонцы выйдут на финишную прямую. Марафонцы же уйдут на второй круг, продолжая знакомство с достопримечательностями Сибирских Афин, которых ещё множество на маршруте.

Томск – это город, который навсегда остается в сердцах посетивших его людей. Это город с четырехвековой историей и молодой, энергичной душой; с суровым сибирским климатом и горячим гостеприимством. Томск ждет вас! Пробежим Томский марафон вместе - Быстрее! Ярче! Сильнее!

Поделиться: