Winning on Points

Stage classification is applied in 21.1 km race.

Athletes can score points showing best results at intermediate stages of 6.2 km, 10 km, 16 km, 18.6 km and at 21.1 km. Points are given to first seven runners reaching each intermediate stage and the finish. At first four stages the athletes score the points upon crossing the check line as follows:
1st – 10 points
2d – 7 points
3d – 5 points
4th – 4 points
5th – 3 points
6th – 2 points
7th – 1 point

At the last stage (finish at 21.1 km) the athletes score the points as follows:
1st – 15 points
2d – 10 points
3d – 8 points
4th – 6 points
5th – 5 points
6th – 4 points
7th – 3 points

An athlete scoring the highest number of points at all stages in total is awarded the first place. Other places are awarded according to total scored points. First six winners on points (men and women) are awarded the prizes.

For example, Athlete А takes the 21.1 km race arriving the first at 6.2 km stage (10 points), the third at 10 km stage (5 points), the fourth at 16 km stage (2 points) and the third at 18.6 km stage (5 points) and scores another 8 points finishing the third at 21.1 km. Total points scored by Athlete A is 30 points.

Athlete В takes the 21.1 km race arriving the fourth at 6.2 km (4 points); the fifth at 10 km (3 points), the fifth at 16.6 km (3 points), the second at 18.6 km (7 points) stages and finishing the second at 21.1 km (10 points). The total points scored by Athlete B is 27 ponts.

Athlete C takes the 21.1 km race and finishes the first (15 points) but arrives the fifth at 6.2 km (2 points), the second at 10 km (7 points), the second at 16 km (7 points), the first at 18.6 km (10 points). The total for Athlete C is 41 points.

The places awarded on points would be as follows:
Athlete C – 1st place
Athlete А – 2d place
Athlete B – 3d place

If total points are equal, an athlete arriving to the finish earlier takes higher place.